?

Log in

No account? Create an account
I discovered Settlers of Catan this past weekend and I'm already… - Settlers of Catan Community [entries|archive|friends|userinfo]
Fans of Settlers of Catan

[ userinfo | livejournal userinfo ]
[ archive | journal archive ]

[Jan. 29th, 2007|08:49 am]
Fans of Settlers of Catan

settlersofcatan

[sim_guy]
I discovered Settlers of Catan this past weekend and I'm already addicted. My friends have one question though that didn't seem very clear in the rules.

Early in one game I'd built two sections of road running out from one of my first settlements. Then I couldn't get any wheat (of course) and while I was stuck without it one of the other players plopped a settlement down at the end of my road. I did have brick and wood at that point. So was it legal for me, on my next turn, to continue my road onward from there even though it was "broken" by his settlement?
linkReply

Comments:
[User Picture]From: faceless_wonder
2007-01-29 02:22 pm (UTC)
nope. the only settlements that can be along your roads are your settlements.
(Reply) (Thread)
[User Picture]From: sim_guy
2007-01-29 04:19 pm (UTC)
I think his move was completely legal. He put his settlement at the end of his own road. Let me try to draw it out here. 'A' is my settlement and 'b' represents one of my road segments. 'S' is his settlement and 'x' is his road segment.

So I've built two segments of road from my first settlement like this:

Abb

Now, coming from the other direction, he drops a settlement at the end of my road before I can, like this:

AbbSxxS

So we have two roads, mine and his, meeting at his settlement. However there is, of course, a third path leading away from there. What I want to know is if I can continue my road along that third path beyond his settlement.
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread)
(Deleted comment)
[User Picture]From: sim_guy
2007-01-30 02:28 am (UTC)

Re: No, you may not.

Thanks so much! That's what we weren't sure of. Your illustrations and explanation clarified it completely.
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread)
[User Picture]From: sim_guy
2007-01-29 08:32 pm (UTC)
Or are you saying that it was illegal for him to put down a second settlement because my road was already touching his road at that intersection?
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread)